About.me Oregon Press Pitch

University of Oregon student travels 600 miles in search of internship.

Patrick Millegan hopes to win $1000 and dream job in Palo Alto, California

Eugene, Ore. (April 13, 2011) – University of Oregon senior Patrick Millegan had no appointment when he showed up to gather votes from About.me’s Palo Alto office for its internship competition. The competition is simple – participants compete to gather the most votes by directing traffic to their About.me profile in order to win $1000 and a paid summer internship with the company.

“Within the first 48 hours of the contest I had traveled 600 miles and was watching the About.me team vote for me,” said Millegan.

Millegan reported that About.me’s product marketing manager was impressed with how quickly Millegan developed and executed his strategy to win. He had successfully talked his way into their company and had each of the available team members voting for him.

Millegan leveraged his use of social media by posting live YouTube updates via Twitter with the hashtag, #PSmoovment, that tracked his voyage to Palo Alto, California. About.me team members took notice when he posted a video of himself outside their Palo Alto office. See his videos at YouTube.com/Psmoovvv .

You can help Patrick win by voting every day at http://about.me/pmillegan. To get reminders every day until the end of the contest (4/22) opt-in here: http://eepurl.com/kKCLX.

For more photos see http://www.flickr.com/photos/pmillegan/page4/

Image

Throwin the ‘O’ up

Meeting the About.me team

About pmillegan

21 years old and newly graduated from the University of Oregon. Just got a sweet internship at about.me, and loving it. I am highly passionate about my work, and am always open to new ideas/projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment